Personal tools

You are here: Home / Research / Subject Guides / Genealogy

Genealogy

The study of family ancestries and histories
Clarke County Genealogy
Part of the IA GenWeb and US GenWeb projects. You can search the Clarke County GenWeb site for a specific surname or locale.
Work Projects Administration Iowa Graves
As part of the Historical Records Survey, WPA staff created indexes of historical records across the country, fostering today's interest in genealogy and history.
Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System
The Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System is a computerized database containing very basic facts about servicemen who served on both sides during the Civil War. The initial focus of the CWSS is the Names Index Project, a project to enter names and other basic information from 6.3 million soldier records in the National Archives.
National Archives: Genealogists/Family Historians
A great starting place for genealogical research, how-to tips for beginners and experts, links to primary sources world-wide, and databases of family trees.
National Archives: State Archives
Genealogists may need to get information from state archives and historical societies. Here is contact information as of January, 2006
Cyndi’s List
A categorized and cross-referenced index to genealogical resources on the Internet, 261,000+ links for family history! (as of 9/1/06)
Repository of Primary Sources
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.
Iowa Genealogical Society
IGS is a non-profit organization whose mission is to create and foster an interest in genealogy and to aid others in researching their family history. IGS was founded in 1965 by a small group of dedicated genealogists who met in members' houses and carried the original collection in an orange crate. Today our 3,000+ members are worldwide and the book collection alone spans the length of over five football fields.
State Historical Society of Iowa
A main repository of Iowa historical and genealogical information.
Society of American Archivists
Organizations, associations and groups related to or of interest to the archival profession.